Earthlinggb's Blog

Welcome to Robotica!

Posted in Uncategorized by earthlinggb on February 10, 2015

So I booked online so there was no human interaction.

Went to Tokyo for a week and checked in to the “Robotica hotel”. A sign on the revolving door as I entered proclaimed “Our staff are persons too. Please treat with respect!” I wondered if they took holidays too and topped up their tans but, somehow, I doubted it.

The reception staff and porters however had been programmed with that usual American fakery of “Have a nice day!” so nothing much had changed.

I was tired after the trip and just wanted to hit the bed and said so to the Android behind the reception desk. A moment later, I was surrounded by a bunch of male androids looking like they had been training in the gym for the last 10 years and taken copious amounts of steroids but realised the look must come from a different gauge of engine oil. The Androidenal receptionist had quietly pushed a panic button thinking I was intent on violence toward my bed. The robots hadn’t been programmed with colloquialisms.

So, anyhow, once that was sorted, I got my cardkey and made my way to the room. Before hitting the sack however, I realised I hadn’t asked for a wake up call so I called reception and booked one. “Certainly sir! What time would you like the wake up call for?”

“Oh…. eleven minutes past nine I think” I replied and, for a moment, the androidenal receptionist fell silent as if she/it was processing the requirement. “Certainly sir! A wake up call for nine minutes past eleven. Goodnight”.

I replaced the receiver and dropped into bed and was out like a light.

Ronot hotel

 

The next moment I know I’m awake. It’s already morning and I sense a presence at the bottom of my bed. I just had time to rub my eyes and look up when I realised it was the receptionist from the previous night. She stared at me with a slightly curled lip smile and screamed….

“9/11 was an inside job!”

I woke up!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike Smith said, on February 11, 2015 at 11:09 pm

    9/11 was a Jewish job. Try googling “4,000 Jews” and “dancing israelis” for more info.
    Oh, and keep up the good work! 🙂


Leave a Reply

