Earthlinggb's Blog

Heaven & Hell

Posted in Music artists, Uncategorized by earthlinggb on October 1, 2014

Many years ago – around 1995 – I picked up a car in Trondheim, Norway and had to drive to a meeting in Roros which is in a valley across the Norwegian mountains. Leaving Trondheim, I passed through a village/town by the name of “Hell” (Yes that’s what it’s called and an ex Miss world came from “Hell”).

I then drove up over the mountains and when I got to the top of this dirt track which was the road, I stopped for about an hour and sat on a rock. It was midsummer and I had a 360 degree view of the mountains and their peaks around me which were covered in snow. Yet it was 30 degrees centigrade and not a puff of wind. The sky was pure blue with not a single cloud to be seen and it was the most perfect silence you could ever imagine. I thought of the possibility of just building a log cabin on that mountain and remaining there. It was HEAVEN!

So, I had literally gone from hell to heaven within a few hours.

Life has been similar in a way. 10 years ago, I could say I had “heaven” in having what, to me, was the most beautiful family, lifestyle and career a man could wish for. It then turned into a hellish nightmare and it’s felt like hell for the last 8 0r 9 years. But I sat today at a services on the M6 toll road having a coffee and, although it was nothing like the Norwegian mountaintop by any stroke of the imagination, I felt I was finding “heaven” again in life. A different kind of “heaven” though. No wife, no kids (not my choice) but a sense of freedom and a career and lifestyle which suits me.

They say life turns on a dime. It does. Just a few short months ago I thought I was gonna drown. Someone threw me a “life raft” and I grabbed it with both hands. I’m just about to step back onboard the cruiseliner and everything’s beginning to look hunky dory once more.

I’ve climbed the mountain again after losing my grip and falling a few hundred feet.

Never thought I’d ever feel so happy again being given a £4M target! 🙂

PLAY THAT FUNKY MUSIC WHITE BOY!

 

 

LIFE’S BEEN GOOD TO ME SO FAR! (and again)

 

 

So honey, GO YOUR OWN WAY! 😉

 

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. D. Hounsome said, on October 1, 2014 at 11:50 pm

    Best wishes to you Mark, make the most of life mate, you are along time gone.

    • earthlinggb said, on October 2, 2014 at 10:33 am

      Thanks Denis. These last few years I have, in one way, made the most of life too. It’s been my education. Screw universities! lol

  2. cheryl Monti said, on October 2, 2014 at 10:04 am

    Thank you for the post Mr E, it was a pleasure to read. I’m so glad you found a life raft, that made me smile. I’m really happy for you and I’m rooting for you all the way. You’ve given me hope this morning, thank you, that’s a sign that heaven is close by. I have missed some of those wild times with the comments, the encouragement and the genuine care and comfort that showered us with so much. Life moves on and I’m so glad that your smile is returning, Much love to you Mr E, keep going all the way xx

  3. earthlinggb said, on October 2, 2014 at 10:36 am

    I’m glad you got something out of it Cheryl. Yeah I miss not having the “bandwidth” to write and research as I did before but then I was doing it at the expense of “life”. I don’t regret it however. I hope things are going well for you too and for the others who have commented over the time. x

  4. jon said, on October 4, 2014 at 12:20 am

    get in there pal really happy for you.now all you need is a good woman to take care of the 3 c’s cooking cleaning and will leave the last c out just in case KIDS read here lol if you can find that as well good luck in that journey is this fleetwood mac song the goodbye from you ????? i hope not,,,i wish you all the best either way

    been better educated in here than the whole the time i was at school or was suppose to be.

    many thanks MR E

  5. Babs said, on October 9, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    Wishing you all the best Mark and I’m so glad somebody helped you when you needed it. Take care to stay in Heaven not hell. 🙂


Leave a Reply

